Analysis · Energy compliance

ESOS Phase 4: the quiet deadline

Phase 4 looks distant — the notification deadline is 5 December 2027 — but the qualification test lands on 31 December 2026, and the evidence period must wrap around it.

Organisations that treat this as a 2027 problem will repeat the Phase 3 scramble.

Our analysis of what Phase 4 requires and where the leverage is.

Published 12 June 2026 · Updated 1 August 2026 · Independent analysis · SRS Report
The scheme

What Phase 4 is, and who it catches

The Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) requires large UK undertakings to assess their energy consumption every four years and notify the Environment Agency[1][3].

ESOS Phase 4 is the current cycle: the Phase 4 compliance period runs from 6 December 2023 to 5 December 2027, with qualification tested on 31 December 2026[3].

What follows is our analysis of what changed and why it matters. If what you need is the compliance route itself — qualification, evidence, notification, action plan — the cluster reference for ESOS Phase 4 walks it end to end.

The rules are settled. SI 2026/701 was made on 23 June 2026 and came into force on 22 July 2026[7], and the Environment Agency published its Phase 4 guidance on 30 July 2026[3].

The qualification test is unchanged: an organisation is in scope if, on the qualification date, it employs 250 or more people, or has an annual turnover over £44 million together with an annual balance sheet total over £38 million[1][3].

The Phase 4 guidance states that test in sterling[3].

Corporate groups qualify together — if any UK group member meets the test, the whole UK group participates. Our sister site's breakdown of ESOS thresholds covers how that aggregation applies to part-year group changes.

SI 2026/701 did not touch those thresholds[7]. Aligning them with SECR’s own sterling thresholds was proposed and then dropped: GOV.UK confirms the change “will not go ahead for Phase 4,” and no Phase 5 commitment to it has been published — only the introduction of net zero requirements has been deferred to Phase 5.

The timing subtlety most organisations miss in ESOS Phase 4: the assessment must draw on 12 consecutive months of energy data that include 31 December 2026 and end before 5 December 2027[3].

Data collection for Phase 4, in other words, should already be running — an organisation starting its ESOS Phase 4 measurement in mid-2027 cannot retrofit a compliant evidence period.

This makes early preparation for Phase 4 essential.

What changed

ESOS Phase 4’s real changes — inherited from the 2023 reforms, now fully in force

The 2023 amendment regulations[2] arrived mid-way through Phase 3, which meant their most demanding elements were softened by transition.

ESOS Phase 4 is the first full cycle in which they all bind from day one.

Phase 4’s own changes come from a different instrument: SI 2026/701[7].

Coverage of 95% is a Phase 3 rule, not a Phase 4 one

ESOS Phase 4 assessments must cover at least 95% of total energy consumption across buildings, transport and industrial processes, leaving a de minimis of up to 5%[3].

That is routinely written up as a Phase 4 change, and it is not — the rise from 90% to 95% came in with the 2023 amendment regulations and bound participants from Phase 3[2].

The mechanical effect is that the “de minimis” bucket organisations used to exclude awkward-to-measure consumption — pool vehicles, small sites, sub-metered tenancies — is half what it was before Phase 3.

For multi-site estates it remains the single biggest driver of audit work in ESOS Phase 4.

Action plans, and a third progress update

Phase 3 introduced mandatory action plans; ESOS Phase 4 closes the loop.

The Phase 4 action plan is due by 5 December 2028 and covers 6 December 2027 to 5 December 2031[3].

Progress updates follow on 5 December 2029, 5 December 2030 and 5 December 2031 — the third is new to Phase 4, added by regulation 28 of SI 2026/701[8].

The ESOS assessment needs sign-off by one responsible officer where the lead assessor is independent of the participant, or two in any other case (SI 2014/1643 reg 30(2)–(4)) — described in Environment Agency guidance as sign-off by ‘director(s) or equivalent’. The action plan and each progress update must likewise be confirmed by the responsible officer, though the instrument does not state a one-or-two rule for those submissions. All three are submitted through the Notification System (MESOS)[3].

There is no penalty for missing an action plan or a progress update: the Environment Agency guidance says regulators will not take enforcement action or issue a penalty for non-submission, and the Scheme Administrator publishes the failure instead[3].

Three genuinely new duties

First, achieved-savings reporting: the ESOS report and the notification of compliance must state the energy savings achieved during the compliance period — the measures implemented, the saving from each measure in kWh, and each measure’s energy-saving category[3].

Only the combined figure across all measures is published; per-measure savings are withheld as potentially commercially sensitive[3].

Second, the action plan review: participants must identify the proposed measures from the previous action plan that were not implemented, and explain why[3].

Those submissions are not published, though action plans and progress updates are[3].

Third, the third progress update on 5 December 2031[8].

Two routes, not four

Display Energy Certificates and Green Deal Assessments are no longer compliance routes: regulation 26 of SI 2026/701 omits regulation 34 of the 2014 Regulations[7].

The Environment Agency’s stated reason is that they “provide more limited and less tailored recommendations than an ESOS energy audit”[3].

DEC and GDA data can still feed an ESOS report — an intensity ratio, say — but it cannot substitute for the audit[3].

That leaves two routes: a lead-assessor-reviewed ESOS energy audit, and ISO 50001[5].

Where ISO 50001 certification covers total or significant energy consumption, the participant is deemed to have complied with the duties to appoint a lead assessor, carry out the audit and produce the ESOS report — a notification of compliance is still required[3].

Partial certification exempts only the certified consumption; the remainder is audited under standard ESOS rules with a lead assessor appointed[3].

No lead assessor is needed below 40,000 kWh of total consumption, and a participant with zero energy consumption needs no assessment at all — but still notifies[3].

ESOS Phase 3 vs ESOS Phase 4 — the operative differences
RequirementPhase 3Phase 4
Energy coverage95%, from the 2023 amendment regulations95% — unchanged
DECs / Green Deal AssessmentsA valid routeRemoved by SI 2026/701 reg 26
Action planRequired after notificationRequired by 5 Dec 2028, covering 6 Dec 2027 – 5 Dec 2031
Progress updatesTwoThree — 5 Dec 2029, 5 Dec 2030, 5 Dec 2031
Achieved savingsNot reportedMeasures implemented and kWh saved per measure, in the ESOS report
Action plan reviewNot requiredMeasures not implemented, and why — not published
Qualification date31 December 202231 December 2026
Deadline5 December 2023 (extended in practice to 2024)5 December 2027
Market reading

Our analysis: three things the deadline maths hides

The effective deadline is earlier than 5 December 2027.

Phase 3 demonstrated what happens when a large share of participants seek lead assessors in the final six months: capacity runs out and submissions slip.

The Environment Agency was forced into pragmatic late-notification arrangements in 2023–24.

Nothing in the ESOS Phase 4 design increases assessor supply, while the 95% rule increases assessment workload per participant.

Organisations beginning ESOS Phase 4 audits in 2026 buy themselves negotiating power on assessor fees; organisations starting in autumn 2027 will take whatever is left.

Early submission is now possible — and strategically useful.

Because the ESOS Phase 4 evidence period must include 31 December 2026, an organisation with audits complete can notify in early 2027, almost a year ahead of the deadline[3].

For groups whose investors ask about energy governance under UK SRS S2[6], a completed ESOS Phase 4notification is a concrete, citable data point rather than a promise.

ESOS data is UK SRS data.

The energy-consumption profile, the savings opportunities, and the action-plan delivery record that ESOS Phase 4 demands are precisely the inputs UK SRS S2 metrics and transition narratives require[6].

Treating the ESOS audit as a one-off compliance artefact — the dominant Phase 1–3 pattern — now means paying twice for the same measurement.

The marginal cost of making ESOS Phase 4 outputs reporting-grade is small; the value in S2 preparation is not.

Organisations that want this handled end to end can engage a specialist ESOS consultancy.

For the step-by-step compliance route, see the ESOS Phase 4 compliance guide on our sister reference site.

Penalty context: enforcement is real but targeted. The Environment Agency’s published penalties cluster around failures to notify and absent assessments — a fixed maximum of £50,000, with discretion to set a lower amount, for a missed audit, plus £500 per working day capped at 80 working days, plus publication[3][4] — rather than technical audit-quality disputes. No penalty attaches to a missed action plan or a progress update; that failure is published instead[3]. The expensive failure mode is doing nothing, not doing something imperfectly.
Common questions

ESOS Phase 4 — frequently asked questions

What is the ESOS Phase 4 deadline?

The ESOS Phase 4 deadline is 5 December 2027. Qualifying organisations must submit their ESOS Phase 4 compliance notification to the Environment Agency by this date via the MESOS digital service. The Phase 4 compliance period runs from 6 December 2023 to 5 December 2027.

What is the ESOS Phase 4 qualification date?

The ESOS Phase 4 qualification date is 31 December 2026. Any UK undertaking that meets the qualification criteria on that date — 250 or more employees, or an annual turnover over £44 million together with an annual balance sheet total over £38 million — must comply with ESOS Phase 4. The 12 months of energy data used in the Phase 4 assessment must be 12 consecutive months that include 31 December 2026 and end before 5 December 2027.

What changed between ESOS Phase 3 and Phase 4?

Phase 4’s own changes come from SI 2026/701, in force 22 July 2026, and are set out in the Environment Agency guidance published on 30 July 2026. Display Energy Certificates and Green Deal Assessments are removed as compliance routes (regulation 26 omits regulation 34 of the 2014 Regulations). Participants must report the energy savings actually achieved in the compliance period, measure by measure in kWh. They must also review the previous action plan, identifying proposed measures not implemented and why. And a third, final progress update is due on 5 December 2031. The 95% energy-coverage rule is not a Phase 4 change — it came in with the 2023 amendment regulations and applied from Phase 3.

What are the penalties for missing ESOS Phase 4?

ESOS Phase 4 penalties: failure to undertake an energy audit carries a fixed maximum of £50,000, with discretion to set a lower amount, plus £500 for each working day after service of a compliance notice until it is remedied, capped at 80 working days, plus publication. Failure to notify carries up to £5,000 plus £500 per working day, capped at 80 working days, plus publication. There is no penalty for failing to submit an action plan or a progress update — the Environment Agency guidance states that regulators will not take enforcement action or issue a penalty for non-submission; the Scheme Administrator publishes the failure instead.

Can ISO 50001 be used for ESOS Phase 4 compliance?

Yes. Where ISO 50001 certification covers an organisation’s total or its significant energy consumption — significant meaning at least 95% of the total — the participant is deemed to have complied with the duties to appoint a lead assessor, carry out an ESOS energy audit and produce an ESOS report. A notification of compliance is still required. Partial coverage exempts only the certified consumption; the rest must be audited and a lead assessor appointed.

Related analysis
ESOS & SECR Intelligence HubBoth energy and carbon compliance regimes, tracked as one system.ESG reporting requirements UKEvery UK disclosure obligation in one map — and where the landscape converges next.SECR thresholds analysedWho reports under SECR — and the trap in the 2025 company-size uplift.
Sources & primary references
  1. The Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme Regulations 2014 (SI 2014/1643) legislation.gov.uk
  2. The Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme (Amendment) Regulations 2023 legislation.gov.uk · Raised coverage to 95% and introduced action plans, both from Phase 3
  3. Comply with the Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) phase 4 Environment Agency, GOV.UK · Published 30 July 2026 — Phase 4 milestones, qualification, routes and penalties
  4. ESOS enforcement and penalties — Environment Agency enforcement positions Environment Agency, GOV.UK · Civil penalties: £50,000 fixed maximum (downward discretion for regs 45/47) plus £500/working day for some offences
  5. ISO 50001 Energy management systems International Organization for Standardization · Alternative ESOS compliance route
  6. UK Sustainability Reporting Standards (UK SRS S1 and S2) Department for Business and Trade, GOV.UK · Published 25 February 2026
  7. The Energy Savings Opportunity Scheme (Amendment) Regulations 2026 (SI 2026/701) legislation.gov.uk · Made 23 June 2026, in force 22 July 2026 — the Phase 4 amendments
  8. SI 2026/701 regulation 28 — final progress update legislation.gov.uk · Adds a third progress update for compliance periods ending on or after 5 December 2027
Book a free consultation