Materiality · UK SRS and CSRD
UK SRS materiality and double materiality: one assessment or two?
UK SRS materiality is a single, financial test: would leaving information out, misstating it or obscuring it be expected to influence investors’ and lenders’ decisions (UK SRS S1 ¶18)?
The EU’s double materiality adds a second test, the company’s impacts on people and the environment, considered in their own right.
This page sets the two side by side for UK groups that meet both, and shows where one piece of work can serve twice.
The UK SRS test
Material to whom, and about what
UK SRS S1 asks two questions in sequence.
First, which sustainability-related risks and opportunities are in scope: those that “could reasonably be expected to affect the entity’s cash flows, its access to finance or cost of capital over the short, medium or long term” (¶3).
Second, which information about them is material, under the ¶18 test.
The primary users are investors, lenders and other creditors, and their decisions are about providing resources: buying, selling or holding securities, providing loans, and voting on or influencing management (¶B14).
Impacts are not absent from UK SRS: ¶2 says an entity’s dependencies on resources and relationships, and its impacts on them, “give rise to sustainability-related risks and opportunities for the entity”.
But an impact enters the report only through that route, as a risk or opportunity that could affect the entity’s prospects.
“Enterprise value” is not the test; the phrase does not appear in either UK standard, and the operative words are cash flows, access to finance and cost of capital.
The same wording is in the ISSB baseline, IFRS S1, which the UK endorsed without changing its materiality paragraphs.
“In the context of sustainability-related financial disclosures, information is material if omitting, misstating or obscuring that information could reasonably be expected to influence decisions that primary users of general purpose financial reports make on the basis of those reports, which include financial statements and sustainability-related financial disclosures and which provide information about a specific reporting entity.”
UK SRS S1, Department for Business and Trade, 25 February 2026
Applying it
How UK SRS S1 says to make the judgement
¶19 sends the reader to ¶¶B13–B37. The rows below are the steps those paragraphs imply, each with its paragraph.
| Step | What UK SRS S1 says | Paragraph |
|---|---|---|
| Start from the specific standard | Apply the UK SRS that specifically covers the risk; otherwise use judgement and the sources of guidance | B20, 57–58 |
| Use the permitted sources | SASB disclosure topics and metrics "may" be considered; GRI and ESRS may be consulted where they do not conflict | 55(a), 58(a), C2 |
| Weigh quantity and quality | Consider quantitative and qualitative factors, such as the magnitude and nature of the effect | B21 |
| Treat uncertain future events carefully | Consider the effect on amount, timing and uncertainty of cash flows, and the range and likelihood of outcomes | B22–B23 |
| Do not ignore the tail | Low-probability, high-impact outcomes may be material, alone or in aggregate | B23 |
| Account for timing and scrutiny | Distant effects are usually less likely to be material, unless users scrutinise the topic closely | B24 |
| Leave out what is not material | Even a listed minimum requirement need not be disclosed if the information is not material | B25 |
| Add what is needed | Disclose more where the specific requirements are not enough for users to understand the effects | B26 |
| Do not obscure | Material information must not be hidden by immaterial detail, scattered or vaguely worded | B27 |
| Reassess every year | Reassess materiality judgements at each reporting date | B28 |
The standard’s own example of aggregation is useful: several risks might each threaten the same supply chain, and while no single source is material, “the aggregate risk—the risk of supply chain disruption from all sources—might be material” (¶B23).
Where law or regulation requires information that is not material, it may be included, but it must not obscure material information (¶B31).
The reverse also holds: material information must be disclosed even if law or regulation permits leaving it out (¶B32).
The SASB Standards are permissive in the UK version: where IFRS S1 says an entity “shall refer to and consider” them, UK SRS S1 says “may”.
The EU test
Double materiality in the law and in ESRS
The EU test is written into the Accounting Directive, Article 19a(1): information necessary to understand the undertaking’s impacts on sustainability matters, and information necessary to understand how sustainability matters affect its development, performance and position.
The CSRD’s recital 29 names it: “That is referred to as the double materiality perspective”, and each perspective is to be considered in its own right.
The financial limb in ESRS uses the same operative words as UK SRS: material financial effects on development, financial position, performance, cash flows, access to finance or cost of capital (ESRS 1 ¶47).
The impact limb is assessed on severity, meaning scale, scope and irremediable character, and on likelihood for potential impacts, with severity taking precedence for potential human rights impacts (ESRS 1 ¶40).
The revised ESRS change the mechanics in two ways a UK reader should know.
Immaterial information now “shall not” be disclosed (ESRS 1 ¶24), and a “top-down” approach lets an undertaking conclude on a topic from its strategy and business model without assessing each impact, risk and opportunity (¶27).
Delegated Regulation (EU) 2026/1563 applies the revised ESRS to financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2027, and paragraph numbers from the 2023 ESRS do not carry across.
ESRS after the 2026 revision
- 18 Mar 2026Omnibus I in force
CSRD narrowed to EUR 450m and 1,000 employees.
- 21 Sep 2026Revised ESRS published
Delegated Regulation (EU) 2026/1563.
- FY2026Three options
ESRS (2023), ESRS (2023) with eight reliefs, or the revised ESRS — and say which.
- 1 Jan 2027Revised ESRS apply
For financial years beginning on or after this date.
Side by side
UK SRS and ESRS materiality compared
| UK SRS S1 | ESRS (revised) | |
|---|---|---|
| Basis | Single, financial materiality | Double: impact and financial, each in its own right |
| Where it sits | General purpose financial reports, for their primary users | The management report (Art 19a(1)) |
| Financial test wording | Cash flows, access to finance or cost of capital (¶3) | The same words (ESRS 1 ¶47) |
| Impacts | Only as the source of risks and opportunities (¶2) | Material in their own right, judged by severity and likelihood |
| Thresholds | None; entity-specific (¶B19) | None fixed; severity and likelihood criteria |
| Immaterial information | Need not be disclosed (¶B25) | Shall not be disclosed (ESRS 1 ¶24) |
| Legal force in the UK | Voluntary; listed companies comply or explain from 2027 | None, unless a group company is in CSRD scope |
The difference is not in the financial test, which the two regimes word almost identically, but in whether impacts count on their own.
A UK SRS report can therefore be shorter than an ESRS statement for the same company, and still be complete.
For how the two standards compare beyond materiality, see UK SRS requirements, and for the wider UK map, ESG reporting requirements in the UK.
UK groups caught by both
One assessment, two limbs
The ESRS–ISSB interoperability guidance settles the key point in its first bullet: “the definition of financial materiality in ESRS is aligned with the definition of materiality in IFRS S1”.
It is equally clear that the regimes differ, because ESRS materiality “covers also the impact materiality lens”.
So the financial limb of an ESRS assessment can serve UK SRS, and the impact limb is additional work for ESRS alone.
Two cautions apply.
The guidance was published on 2 May 2024 and maps ESRS (2023) paragraph numbers, which the revised ESRS replace, so its tables need re-mapping for financial years from 2027.
And UK SRS S1 permits ESRS only as a source of guidance, never as a substitute (¶¶C2–C3).
In practice that means one inventory of risks, opportunities and impacts, one financial-materiality judgement documented to the UK SRS S1 paragraphs, and a separate impact-materiality judgement for ESRS.
An entity may consult GRI and ESRS in identifying information (¶C2), but must not let them obscure material UK SRS information.
If it applies those sources without applying UK SRS, it may not make an explicit and unreserved statement of compliance with UK SRS (¶C3).
Who meets CSRD
When a UK group needs double materiality
UK SRS never requires a double materiality assessment. CSRD can, for EU undertakings and for non-EU groups with large EU operations.
| Situation | Test | From |
|---|---|---|
| An EU subsidiary of a UK group | Exceeds both EUR 450m net turnover and an average of 1,000 employees (Art 19a(1)); consolidated equivalent for EU parents (Art 29a(1)) | Financial years beginning on or after 1 Jan 2027 |
| A UK (non-EU) parent | EU net turnover above EUR 450m for each of the last two consecutive financial years, with an EU subsidiary or branch above EUR 200m (Art 40a(1)) | Per Art 40a of the consolidated Directive |
| A UK supplier to an EU reporter | With 1,000 employees or fewer, may decline requests beyond the voluntary standard (the value-chain cap) | Voluntary standard applies from FY2027 |
The thresholds are cumulative: Omnibus I uses “and”, and figures circulating from earlier drafts, such as 1,750 employees, are not in the adopted text.
The value-chain cap comes from Delegated Regulation (EU) 2026/1560, in force since 24 September 2026, which sets the datapoints a protected undertaking can be asked for.
A UK supplier outside CSRD scope that receives an ESRS-style questionnaire can answer on a UK SRS basis for its financial limb, and decide separately what impact information it wishes to give.
Carbon data for such requests usually starts with Scope 3 emissions reporting.
Listed companies
Materiality inside comply or explain
From accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2027, listed companies in UKLR 6, 14, 15, 16 and 22 report against UK SRS on a comply-or-explain basis (FCA PS26/19).
Materiality decides what the UK SRS S1 limb reaches: UKLR 6.6.6R(7B) works on the sustainability-related risks and opportunities of the kind described in UK SRS S1 ¶3 that the company has identified.
Where it has identified such a risk but not disclosed on it, it names the risk and gives the reasons; where it has identified none, it states that fact.
Leaving out immaterial information is not a departure at all, because UK SRS S1 ¶B25 says it need not be disclosed.
The FCA’s draft Technical Note 803.1, out for comment until 28 October 2026, proposes that explanations the standards themselves provide for do not prevent a statement of compliance.
How to build an explanation is on UK SRS comply or explain, and what the S2 climate limb requires on TCFD vs UK SRS.
Evidence
What supports a materiality judgement
UK SRS S1 does not prescribe a method or a document, but its paragraphs tell you what the file should show.
The inventory: which risks and opportunities were considered, and from which sources, including any SASB topics (¶¶55, 59, which also require the sources applied to be named).
The reasoning: quantitative and qualitative factors, the range and likelihood of outcomes, timing, and any aggregation (¶¶B21–B24).
The users: why the information would or would not influence primary users’ decisions (¶¶B14–B18).
The refresh: what changed since the last reporting date (¶B28).
An assurer, if you appoint one, will test that process; CSRD assurance expressly covers “the process carried out by the undertaking to identify the information reported”, and the UK position is on sustainability assurance in the UK.
The climate standard adds its own sources of judgement; see climate scenario analysis under UK SRS S2 for how resilience analysis informs the risks identified.
You can book a free 15-minute call to talk through a materiality process that serves both regimes.
Frequently asked
UK SRS materiality — frequently asked
What materiality test does UK SRS use?
A financial, investor-focused test. UK SRS S1 paragraph 18 says information is material "if omitting, misstating or obscuring that information could reasonably be expected to influence decisions that primary users of general purpose financial reports make on the basis of those reports". The risks and opportunities in scope are those that could reasonably be expected to affect the entity's cash flows, its access to finance or cost of capital over the short, medium or long term (paragraph 3).
Is UK SRS double materiality?
No. UK SRS, like the ISSB standards it endorses, applies single, financial materiality. Impacts on people and the environment matter under UK SRS S1 only through the risks and opportunities they create for the entity (paragraph 2). EU CSRD and the ESRS apply double materiality, which adds an impact perspective in its own right.
What is double materiality?
Double materiality is the EU's two-limbed test. The Accounting Directive requires information necessary to understand the undertaking's impacts on sustainability matters, and information necessary to understand how sustainability matters affect the undertaking's development, performance and position. The CSRD's recital 29 names this "the double materiality perspective" and says each perspective is to be considered in its own right.
Can one materiality assessment serve both UK SRS and CSRD?
Partly. The EFRAG and IFRS Foundation interoperability guidance says the definition of financial materiality in ESRS is aligned with the definition of materiality in IFRS S1. What is not aligned is the regime: ESRS adds impact materiality, so an ESRS assessment also has to identify impacts that are material in their own right. A group can build the financial limb once and add the impact limb for ESRS, keeping the evidence for each.
Does UK SRS use enterprise value materiality?
No. The phrase "enterprise value" does not appear in UK SRS S1 or S2. The test is influence on the decisions of primary users of general purpose financial reports, by reference to cash flows, access to finance or cost of capital.
Is there a materiality threshold in UK SRS?
No. UK SRS S1 paragraph B19 says materiality judgements are specific to an entity, so the standard "does not specify any thresholds for materiality or predetermine what would be material in a particular situation". An entity considers quantitative and qualitative factors, such as the magnitude and nature of an effect (B21).
How often must materiality be reassessed?
At each reporting date. UK SRS S1 paragraph B28 requires an entity to reassess its materiality judgements to take account of changed circumstances and assumptions, because information that was material in a prior period may no longer be, and the reverse.
Do UK companies need a double materiality assessment?
Only if they, or group companies, are in CSRD scope or choose to report under ESRS. From financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2027, CSRD applies to EU undertakings exceeding both a net turnover of EUR 450 million and an average of 1,000 employees, and a non-EU parent is caught where its EU turnover exceeds EUR 450 million for each of the last two consecutive financial years and it has an EU subsidiary or branch above EUR 200 million. UK SRS itself never requires one.
Does immaterial information need an explanation under the FCA rules?
No. UK SRS S1 paragraph B25 says an entity need not disclose information that is not material, even if a standard lists it as a minimum requirement, so leaving it out is compliance, not a departure. The FCA's explain limb for UK SRS S1 works at the level of the sustainability-related risks and opportunities the company has identified; a company that identifies none states that fact.
Sources
Primary sources
Every figure, date and status on this page traces to the instrument’s owner. Secondary commentary is never the source for a number.
- Department for Business and TradeUK SRS S1 General Requirements (PDF)
¶¶2–3 (dependencies, impacts and prospects), 17–19 (materiality), 55–59 (sources of guidance, SASB "may"), B13–B32 (materiality judgements), C1–C3 (GRI and ESRS as sources).
- IFRS FoundationIFRS S1 General Requirements (Navigator)
The ISSB baseline UK SRS S1 endorses; its materiality paragraphs are unchanged in the UK version.
- Department for Business and TradeUK Sustainability Reporting Standards — guidance
UK SRS S1 and S2 published 25 February 2026, available for voluntary use.
- Financial Conduct AuthorityPS26/19: Aligning listed issuers' sustainability disclosures with international standards (PDF)
Appendix 1: UKLR 6.6.6R(7B) — the UK SRS S1 explain limb operates on identified risks and opportunities; (7B)(c) statement where none is identified.
- Financial Conduct AuthorityDraft Technical Note 803.1 — UK SRS sustainability disclosures for listed companies (PDF, for consultation)
Draft guidance (feedback by 28 October 2026): explanations the standards themselves provide for do not break the compliance statement.
- EUR-LexDirective 2013/34/EU (consolidated 18 March 2026), Articles 19a, 29a and 40a
The two materiality limbs in operative text; the EUR 450m / 1,000 scope test; third-country undertakings.
- EUR-LexDirective (EU) 2022/2464 (CSRD), recital 29
"That is referred to as the double materiality perspective".
- EUR-LexDirective (EU) 2026/470 (Omnibus I)
Narrowed CSRD scope to EUR 450m and 1,000 employees; value-chain cap; in force 18 March 2026.
- EUR-LexDelegated Regulation (EU) 2026/1563 — revised ESRS
In force 10 November 2026; applies to financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2027; three options for FY2026.
- Council of the EUC(2026) 5010 final, Annex I — ESRS 1 (revised)
ESRS 1 ¶24 (immaterial information "shall not" be disclosed), ¶27 (top-down approach), ¶40 (impact severity), ¶47 (financial materiality).
- EUR-LexDelegated Regulation (EU) 2026/1560 — voluntary standard for value-chain-cap undertakings
In force 24 September 2026; protects undertakings with up to 1,000 employees.
- EFRAG / IFRS FoundationESRS–ISSB Standards Interoperability Guidance (2 May 2024)
Financial materiality definition aligned with IFRS S1; ESRS adds the impact lens; maps ESRS (2023) paragraph numbers.
- IFRS FoundationSASB Standards
Industry disclosure topics UK SRS S1 ¶55(a) says an entity may consider.
Continue reading